We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.


by Acustic

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €10 EUR  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    1st pressing of Acustic's "Welcome" comes in a colourful gatefold digipack.

    Includes unlimited streaming of Welcome via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 3 days
    edition of 500  1 remaining

      €18 EUR or more 


Farfisa 2 02:50
Welcome 03:39
80 02:51
Hop 03:11
VM 03:38
T.P.Ø. 03:37
Øse 2 04:09
Resonere 04:13
Gram 05:57
Flow 03:40
TSP 03:14


The new release from the third member of Future 3/System and 4th member of People Press Play, Jesper Skaaning (aka Acustic), has been anticipated for some time. The last time he released a full solo album was in 1998 (”Star Quality”), and we are therefore proud to announce Acustic’s third album, entitled ”Welcome”, this time released on Rump Recordings.

On ”Welcome” we once again encounter the strongly melodic approach to electronica, which has been Skaaning’s trademark, both as a solo artist and as a part of the group Future 3.

Future 3’s last album (released under the name System in 2002) was deliberately stripped of melody and was more like an exploration of the three basic elements of the dub-genre: bass, reverb and delay. ”Welcome” on the other hand is a return to the irresistable riffs and melodies which we might expect from Skaaning, only this time presented in a slightly more experimental sound universe.

In contrast to the previous Acustic records, where the tracks were often built around repetitive loops or based on riffs instead of actual melodies, the new material seems more complete and at the same time the sound is characterized by greater edge.
With his sense of harmony, and his consciously minimalist approach, Skaaning constructs a sound which is forthcoming without trying too hard to please.

The quirky blend of electronica offered on the album ranges from the light-hearted moods of ”Farfisa 2” and ”Flow” to the more melancholic moods of ”VM” and ”Gram”.
The track ”Øse 2” was originally released in a different version in 2004 on a compilation from ElectrAros called ”Dansk Lyd”.
Included in this Bandcamp release is also Rumpistol's remix of T.P.Ø

”Deep, minimal bass lines and percolating clusters of clicks and clatter anchor the pieces while chiming keys etch sparkling melodies on top” (Textura).

"Possibly Acustics best release to date. Highly recommended!" 
(Angry Ape).

”Lovely stuff and just right for a spot of early evening summer listening” (Smallfish)

”Killer” ***** (DE:BUG).

"It’s still a very good album mind, deftly constructed with some moments of real beauty to be cherished, and while it doesn’t demand a listen, it definitely deserves one."
- James Ould/The Silent Ballet (UK)

"En virkelig anbefalelsesværdigt electronica-udgivelse. Helstøbt og drømmende uden at det kammer over; givende i modsætning til blot behagende."
- Jannik Juhl Christensen/Geiger (DK)

"Velkommen til fremtiden Når der kommer et album fra et af medlemmerne i Future 3, er det altid spændende. Fra dannelsen i 1994 gik der ikke lang tid, inden Future 3’s intelligente blanding af dub og ambient i et minimalistisk mix gjorde denne særlige danske lyd til noget helt særegent på den elektroniske scene. Alt hvad der bare har været i svag berøring med Future 3, er i besiddelse af deres kvalitetsstempel. Jesper Skaaning er måske det mindre kendte navn af de tre, men ikke desto mindre mindst ligeså talentfuld. Acustic er et af hans aliaser som soloartist. ”Welcome” er det første album siden ”Star Quality” fra 1998 og det tredje i rækken under dette navn. Skaaning er ikke bange for at gå nye veje og udforske nye territorier inden for den elektroniske genre, og ”Welcome” er da også mere melodiøs, end den eksperimenterende og minimalistiske IDM som vi kender fra tidligere udgivelser. ”Welcome” beviser, at der stadig er liv i kludene hos de gamle drenge på den danske electronica-scene. Hvis denne plade var et spil bordtennis, ville serven være hos Acustic, og der skal ualmindeligt godt spil til for at overvinde ham."
- Michael Hedelain/Diskant (DK)


released October 7, 2005

Artwork By [Cover] – Nicolas Freng
Compiled By – Jens Berents Christiansen, Oliver Duckert
Mastered By – Andreas Tilliander
Photography – Oliver Duckert, Thomas Kristjansen
Written-By, Producer – Jesper Skaaning


all rights reserved



Rump Recordings Copenhagen, Denmark

Rump Recordings was founded by Jens Berents Christiansen in Copenhagen in 2003 with an aim to release uncompromising electronic and electro-acoustic music.
The label does not attempt to focus solely on one genre but prefers to zoom in on the un-categorizable fields that emerge when artists start to experiment and push the existing boundaries of music.
... more


contact / help

Contact Rump Recordings

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

If you like Welcome, you may also like: